Tags

, , , , ,

On Monday, after catching up on my blog I had lunch at Pur and went over to the Grand Palais to see their Amadeo de Souza-Cardoso show. I had never heard of de Souza-Cardoso so I hadn’t felt motivated to see the show earlier, even though I did like the photo in the poster. But Antoine encouraged me to put it back on my list. It turned out that I hadn’t heard of de Souza-Cardoso because he died at 30 in the flu epidemic of 1918. Over the previous seven years, however, he produced a remarkable body of work, arguably as protean as the ever-changing styles of Picasso himself.

Le Saut du lapin, 1911, by Amadeo de Souza-Cardoso

Le Saut du lapin (The Leap of the rabbit), 1911, by Amadeo de Souza-Cardoso

Unknown title (Portrait de Paul Alexandre ?), about 1917, by Amadeo de Souza-Cardoso

Unknown title (Portrait de Paul Alexandre ?), about 1917, by Amadeo de Souza-Cardoso

Despite the radical changes in style I was quite taken with this show, and have put up a photo set of my favorite pieces — still only a small sample of what’s in the show.

